CCI Welcomes New Marketing Assistant & Blogger!

Hey fellow Flashes! It’s Britany Ruby here, the newest Public Relations and Marketing assistant with the College of Communication and Information. I would describe myself as a little Anna Wintour mixed with a lot of Carrie Bradshaw, with plans to pursue a career in the Magazine Industry after graduation in December 2011. I am a native of Dayton, Ohio, and a senior at Kent State University pursuing a bachelor of arts in communication studies with a concentration in applied communication.

I studied fashion merchandising here at Kent for three years before realizing that my love of writing had overpowered my love for fashion. However, before I switched my major I was able to study fashion in New York, New York, for the spring 2010 semester. My time in New York greatly influenced my writing and lifestyle as a whole. It helped me to realize my ultimate dream of moving back to the Big Apple to work at a major fashion magazine.

In the past four years I have worked on the staff of Kent State University’s, UHURU Magazine and Artemis Women’s Magazine. I have interned with SELF Magazine in New York, New York. And, I also completed an editorial internship with Padosa.com in 2010, while at home in Dayton, Ohio.  

While I have had other internships in the past I hope to have a completely different experience here at the College of Communication and Information. Here I hope to not only better my writing skills, but to learn more about public relations and marketing as a whole. I hope that you will join me on my journey this summer and until then please let me know if you have any questions!

Britany is a senior applied communication studies student and marketing assistant for CCI.

One thought on “CCI Welcomes New Marketing Assistant & Blogger!”

Leave a Reply

