A Kent State Family: Going To School With A Sibling

Meghan and Kayby Meghan Caprez

I’ve always gone to school with my sister Kay. We’re two years apart in age and grade, but no matter what, we’ve always ended up at the same school. After attending our combined elementary and middle school, she decided to go to high school with me. After attending high school, she decided to follow me to Kent State.

I love my sister. We share the same interests and hobbies, so we’re constantly chatting about the most recent Disney movie or the next Broadway musical that will be at Playhouse Square. But having a sibling with you on campus has definite advantages and disadvantages.

Advantages

You have a built-in support system, especially if you’re homesick. Missing mom and dad? It’s okay! Your sibling can help you adjust to college life with the familiarity and comfort of home their presence brings.

A sibling can help you figure out what’s what on campus. Because I’d all ready been in college for two years, I Meghan and Kay Playhousewas able to show my sister some of the best places to eat and hang out and give her advice about dealing with different programs and advisers.

You’ll always have someone to go to campus events with. I have a lot of friends in the musical theatre program, and I love seeing the different productions on campus. Before my sister came to Kent, I’d find myself feeling awkward sitting by myself because none of my friends were really interested in that kind of thing. Now, I count on my sister to attend shows with me. If your sibling isn’t into the same things you are, you’ll probably still be able to guilt them into it.

You can meet new people and encounter new perspectives on campus. Before my sister came to college, I was really only concerned with the things I was learning in the public relations program. My sister is in the College of Education, Health and Human Services, so I’m able to learn a little bit about cutting-edge topics in her field on our drive home every day.

Disadvantages

Transportation. My sister and I both commute from our parents’ house, and we only have one car. What does that mean? A lot of waiting around because our class schedules and work schedules don’t match. It’s tough, and there isn’t anything you can do about it; you just have to compromise.

Depending on how close you are with your sibling, you might fall into the trap of hanging out with him or her TOO much instead of making new friends. You have to make sure that you’re being your own person and making your own connections. Making new friends is one of the best parts of college, so live it up as an independent person!

Overall, the advantages really do outweigh the disadvantages. It’s great to have a sibling on campus!

Leave a Reply

