COMM Student Shares Her WhyCCIKent Story

by Amanda Azzarelli

When brainstorming a topic to write about for my first post on the WhyCCIKent blog, it seemed fitting to share my “Why CCI Kent” story.

Why I chose CCI Kent
As a senior in high school, I had no idea what the future had in store for me. I knew I did not understand science, and I could not do simple math without counting on my fingers. I knew I liked to write, and I was good at talking to people. I did not know how any of this translated into a career. When filling out my application for Kent State University, I was prompted to pick a major. After doing a little bit of research on the KSU website, I did something I don’t typically do: I made a spontaneous decision. Normally, I spend a lot of time analyzing (possibly over-analyzing) all of my options before I decide on one. But this time, overwhelmed by the magnitude of this decision, I said to myself, “Hmm, Communication Studies sounds good.” And that was that.

Amanda and friends Kristen Kobe (left) and Alyssa Mazey (right) at the 2014 YouToo Social Media Conference.
Amanda and friends Kristen Kobe (left) and Alyssa Mazey (right) at the 2014 YouToo Social Media Conference.

Why I stayed at CCI Kent
During the second semester of my freshman year, I was enrolled in the course Foundations of Communication. Part of this course was giving a presentation about why I chose to be a Communication Studies major. I felt embarrassed of the answer to that question. All of the other students in the class chose Communication Studies because they had their futures planned out. I picked it almost randomly because I didn’t know what else to pick. I had no idea what I would say in my presentation until I started thinking about all the classes I had taken so far. In that moment, I realized it didn’t matter what brought me to CCI. All that mattered was that I was here. So what if my decision had been spontaneous? That spontaneous decision turned out to be one of the best decisions I have made.

Why CCI Kent is perfect for me
Starting off my junior year, I still don’t have my future planned out…and that’s okay. A degree in Communication Studies is versatile enough that I can apply it to almost any career I decide on. I have narrowed down my concentration to Public Communication and added on minors in Interpersonal Communication, Organizational Communication, and Public Relations. While I am unsure of what direction I want to go in with these degrees, I am confident that I am in the right field because I love all of the courses I am taking. No matter what the future holds for me, I know my experiences with CCI Kent will prepare me for it!

Leave a Reply

