Student Reflects on Study Abroad Experience In Dublin and London

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

by Elline Concepcion

Was it a dream? Three weeks ago, I was in Dublin. Two weeks ago, I was in London. Just one week ago, I was in Barcelona. It certainly felt like a dream.

I’ve always wanted to study abroad. To be in another country and observe its culture is something I’ve been interested in for a long time. I finally got my chance through the Global Advertising and Public Relations course offered by the School of Journalism and Mass Communication this Spring. During the semester, I studied advertising and public relations in the United States and compared it to that in Dublin and London. After the semester, we packed up and traveled to those brilliant cities.

Every team had a focus and my team’s topic was Millennial marketing. Our blog, thenewishgen.com, featured Millennial-focused campaigns, Millennial traits, and overall guidelines for marketing to Millennials. I loved it. Millennials are such an important audience to reach and master reaching because we interact with advertising differently than previous generations. My team interviewed Millennial marketers stateside and overseas to compare the different strategies and tactics and learned so much about our generation.

In the spirit of taking full advantage of every opportunity, a group of friends and I decided to extend our two-week European experience another week and visit Barcelona. Best. Decision. Ever. The now three-week adventure opened my eyes to differences in European culture and differences in advertising here and there. The lessons I’ve learned stateside and overseas will follow me throughout my advertising career and my future adventures.

Week One

Dublin was never a must-see for me, but the city showed me why I was wrong. The cobblestone streets, friendly people and live music have changed my views. We walked almost everywhere and saw so much. Now, if I’m really being candid, living in a hostel was not ideal, and the weather was colder than I’d expected, but I would do it all again in a heartbeat. Being in Dublin was an incredible experience, and I can’t wait to go back.

Week Two

Being in London was a dream come true. I’ve always wanted to visit and experience the famous London lifestyle. It definitely lived up to my expectations: a fast-paced, fashion-hub, tourist-filled city that reminded me of The Big Apple. We meet with some great agencies, and it really opened my eyes to the many work opportunities I hope to take advantage of one day.

Week Three

Oh, sweet Barcelona. After so much traveling, I was ready to relax. Barcelona’s picture-perfect beauty took me by surprise. It took about an hour to get to the heart of the city, but once we reached it and looked up at La Sagrada Familia, a wave a relaxation and relief came over me. The week was spent walking around the city, visiting El Museu Picasso and relaxing on the beach. I even visited my uncle in Madrid for a day.

In Dublin and London, we visited some really incredible agencies and made some great connections. Barcelona was the perfect city to relax and watch the sunset on the beach. I became closer with some of my classmates and those friendships will carry on. My time in Europe was a dream come true, and I can’t wait for the next adventure.

Leave a Reply

