Journalism Major Took Editorial Talents to the Big Apple at VH1

Lily Martis at Viacomby Anna Hoffman

Lily Martis, editor of KentWired and senior journalism major, worked as an editorial intern at Viacom for VH1 this past summer. The internship had her living and working for 11 weeks at Viacom’s offices in New York City.

“In my first week, I had two stories published on VH1.com. I was able to sit in on the brand’s weekly meetings, where we discussed website traffic and what types of stories worked and what ones flopped,” said Martis. “I fell in love immediately.”

After interviewing with Viacom’s College Relations department, she was referred to VH1. After interviewing with Jordan Runtagh, the music editor for VH1, she was offered an internship position within an hour after the interview.

“When I interviewed with Jordan Runtagh, the music editor for VH1, he told me that as an editorial intern, the sky was the limit,” said Martis. “He wasn’t wrong.”

Martis researched, pitched, wrote and built posts about celebrities, music and entertainment for the VH1.com website. Martis also transcribed interviews and assisted the other writers with their research for posts.

“I attended VH1’s weekly meetings where we discussed website traffic and what types of stories worked and what ones flopped as well as the editorial team’s meetings, where we pitched story ideas,” said Martis.

Martis said she enjoyed living in New York for the summer and the exciting lifestyle that came with it.

“My favorite part about living in New York for the summer was that you never lived the same day twice,” said Martis. “Each day was filled with new, exciting and different experiences that you can’t get anywhere else.”

Martis said the internship allowed her to combine two of her passions, journalism and music, and learn along the way. Martis said previous experiences in JMC helped her prepare for the role as well.

“Being in JMC has helped me grow as a writer and a reporter,” said Martis. “Being in student media helped tremendously as my experience as both a reporter and editor helped me to write engaging content for a mass audience and manage a website.”

Martis is currently working as a freelance writer for VH1, and said her time this past summer has helped her prepare for her current work and her career after graduation.
“My experiences working as a journalist and living in New York City this summer was more than I could have ever hoped for,” said Martis. “I learned a lot about myself both as a person and as a journalist, and I am excited to see what the future holds.”

Leave a Reply

