Communication Studies Alumna Balanced School Work with Singing and Acting Career

unnamed
Photo by Gina DeSimone

by Gabrielle Woodard

 

Recent School of Communication Studies alumna Claudia Hoyser is using skills learned in the classroom to further her aspirations in the entertainment industry.

“My major in communication studies at Kent has really helped me pursue my dream career,” Hoyser said. “The communication courses have proved to be key elements in building the foundation of my own brand as [an] artist.”

Hoyser completed her practicum at GFI Studios, a recording studio in upstate New York. During this time, she met a movie director who was casting for the Sony Provident film “Wildflower.” After an impromptu audition, Hoyser was cast as the role of Hannah in the film. In addition to playing Hannah, Hoyser sang four songs on the soundtrack.

Hosyer also sang “You Are My Sunshine” for a Golisano Children’s Hospital commercial that aired during the Super Bowl.

Throughout her time at Kent State, Claudia managed to balance being a full time student with three minors and being an active member of Delta Gamma Fraternity, all while working on her performance career.

“The faculty was always willing to help me when I needed it, which made me feel more at ease knowing I could turn to them,” Hoyser said.

After she graduates in May, Hoyser said she is finishing up her album and is hitting the road.

“I am beaming with excitement and feel more than ready to start the journey thanks to my amazing four years at Kent State,” Hoyser said.

Leave a Reply

