I’m on NPR?!

By Hana Barkowitz, ‘18

I felt like I was going to throw up. I was more nervous than I had been in a while, and my words would air on national radio. What was said could never be lived down. When I get into politics, I get passionate. And when I get passionate, I curse. “Please don’t swear. Please don’t swear”, I kept repeating to myself. I have a tendency to embarrass myself, so I needed to make sure I didn’t do that in front of a lot of people.

hana_npr
This is what an audience looks like from the perspective of an NPR panel.

Then Tom Ashbrook came into the green room and put everybody at ease. He is so charismatic and friendly, talking to him aided in melting away some anxiety. We talked generally about his career, and he asked us what we were most excited for and what we were hoping to get out of the discussion.

I heard the catchy tunes of the band that opened up the night, and while I wanted to dance and get groovy, I was too nervous. It felt like their set lasted for forever. I did listen to them again today, however, and realized how good they were. I wish I could have enjoyed them more when they were live.

We walked out on stage, and once I recognized some familiar faces sitting in the front of the audience, I felt much better.

The show began and it was over before I knew it. I wish I had more time to speak on some issues, but the show was only an hour, and it felt like 10 minutes. I never swore, but I did say that something sucks, and my mom yelled at me for that.

Overall I am incredibly honored and flattered to be asked to join and I am happy with the responses I gave. It was an amazing opportunity that I will never forget for the rest of my life.

hana_npr1

Hear the broadcast online at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5M3j-YV-pUg&feature=youtu.be&t=17m19s.

Leave a Reply

