What I’m Thankful For

By Hana Barkowitz

11813519_10100716762669136_3819259005801576149_n

At this point in my life, there is nothing I’m not thankful for. I do know, however, that this might be too cliche. I’ll focus on one very big, important thing I’m extremely grateful right now: my education.

I was fortunate enough to grow up in a middle class family in the suburbs of Pittsburgh. The school district where I attended preschool through 12th grade is one of the best public school districts in Pennsylvania and held high expectations for their students. I did not understand how lucky I was for an education like that until I graduated and found out how prepared I was for college. That was the expectation after you graduated- you go to college. It was rare and unusual if people didn’t.

And now, two and a half years later at Kent State, I am realizing how so lucky I am to have the means and support to attend higher education. I’m growing. I’m learning in and out of the classroom. I’ve met beautiful people: New friends, great professors, amazing administration, and I am learning from them.

Opportunities have been thrown my way that I would have never received if I didn’t come here. I am have developed my critical thinking skills to a whole new level that I never thought I would reach.

I am especially grateful because I feel like the world would be a better place if everybody was educated. Studies show that this would be the case. Especially after recent events in the United States, every US citizen could use a little bit more of some comprehensive education. Of course, this is unrealistic. But I am grateful that I am learning how to educate my peers on a person to person level. Similarly, I am learning how to listen to my peers so that I can learn from them.

It’s truly beautiful to have an open mind. Happy Thanksgiving.

Leave a Reply

