How I Got an Internship from Career Expo

By Alex Taylor, ’17

internship-2

Last year at the CCI Career Expo, I had no idea what to expect, but I decided to take full advantage of the opportunity. I am a Broadcast Journalism major, so I made an effort to try and sit down with every broadcast organization that I knew was going to be there.

I made sure ahead of time to print professional resumes and business cards so that I could talk over them with potential employers and my goal was to find an internship for the summer of 2016.

I left Career Expo feeling good about my meetings with potential employers and within days I had two internship opportunities.

I decided to go with the one that was paid because they were in the same location and why not? I started just a month later at WFMJ in Youngstown, Ohio and was so excited to work in a professional environment.

I had a lot of cool opportunities while at WFMJ. One was attending and covering the Cleveland Cavaliers championship parade in downtown Cleveland.

internship-1

Since then I have actually started my second internship that I also found during that same career fair. Internships are so helpful and help you gain so much experience that you cant get just from school. I am so thankful for the CCI Career fair… it’s thanks to that I feel like I’m ahead in my field.

Career Expo is Wednesday, March 1. Students, register here by February 24. 

Leave a Reply

