Why D.C.?

10978633_10205180150776291_2474719900719894270_n

Why D.C.?

My first piece of advice for anyone going to college is to not be afraid to make it your own experience. Everyone goes through college a little bit differently, some graduate early, some decide to study abroad and others do a four-year track and then there are some that do a track that isn’t written in any brochure.

When I came to Kent State, I immediately knew I was interested in doing the Washington Program in National Issues (WPNI) offered by the College of Arts and Sciences. It was the perfect way for me to complete my Political Science minor while gaining some invaluable experience.

When interning in Washington, I caught a bug, I knew DC was where I wanted to be and where I could make an impact on the world. I was going to do whatever I could to get back. I then made a plan to sort out my class schedule so I could take my last semester of classes online and do one more internship in Washington, D.C.  This did cause a few stressful semesters of loading up on my major classes (which isn’t recommended, but it can be done).

gab-blog-3

If you’re interested in non-profits or government, this is the center of the action. Most companies have some kind of office in the area because of government work.  I love DC because while it is a city, it still has its very residential parts and almost every place is historic for some reason.

The advice I was given was that if you wanted to live and work in DC, to just move out here with a good savings and be prepared to just apply for job after job and meet as many people as you can. Kent State has a great alumni group here that is willing to help you in anyway they can. So that is what I am doing while I intern here, I am trying to meet every person I can and learn about their career as well as exploring all the opportunities around me.

By Gabrielle Woodard, ’17

Leave a Reply

